• UFC on FOX 5: Nam Phan steps in to face Dennis Siver on Dec. 5

  • Nam Phan 300x195 UFC on FOX 5: Nam Phan steps in to face Dennis Siver on Dec. 5A new bout has been formed for the UFC on FOX 5 card as Nam Phan (18-10) now faces Dennis Siver (20-8) in a featherweight battle. Phan has stepped in to replace an injured Eddie Yagin who was forced to withdraw from his scheduled fight with Siver in December.

    UFC officials announced the new match-up today.

    Yagin’s management announced on Tuesday that he would be withdrawing from the event due to a head injury suffered during training. Medical staff found that Eddie has some swelling on his brain, but at this stage they do not feel any surgery will be necessary and that the swelling will go down with time.

    UFC on FOX 5 will take place on Dec. 5 at the KeyArena in Seattle. The event is set to feature a headline bout between current UFC lightweight champion Benson Henderson and challenger Nate Diaz. The main card is set to air LIVE on FOX with the prelims expected to air on FUEL TV.

    Nam Phan last fought at UFC on FOX 4 in August, where he picked up a split decision victory over Cole Miller. Prior to that he dropped a unanimous decision loss to Jimy Hettes at UFC 141 in December 2011, and scored a unanimous decision victory over Leonard Garcia at UFC 136 in October 2011. Phan now has the chance to put another notch in the win column with a big performance against Siver.

    Dennis Siver was last in action at UFC on FUEL TV 2 in April, where he scored a unanimous decision victory over Diego Nunes in his featherweight debut. Prior to that he dropped a first round submission loss against Donald Cerrone at UFC 137 in October 2011. That loss snapped a four fight winning streak Siver had been riding, defeating notable fighters such as Spencer Fisher, Andre Winner, George Sotiropoulos and Matt Wiman during 2010/2011. Dennis will no doubt look to begin a new winning streak by defeating Phan in December.

    The current UFC on FOX 5 card is below:

    Main Card

    - Benson Henderson (current champ) vs. Nate Diaz (for LW title)
    - Alexander Gustafsson vs. Mauricio “Shogun” Rua
    - Rory MacDonald vs. B.J. Penn
    - Matt Brown vs. Mike Swick

    Preliminary Card

    - Lavar Johnson vs. Brendan Schaub
    - Mike Chiesa vs. Marcus LeVesseur
    - Nam Phan vs. Dennis Siver
    - Bryan Caraway vs. Mike Easton
    - Ramsey Nijem vs. Joe Proctor
    - Daron Cruickshank vs. Henry Martinez
    - John Albert vs. Scott Jorgensen
    - Tim Means vs. Abel Trujillo
    - John Cholish vs. Yves Edwards

    Stay close to The MMA Review (themmareview.co.uk) for all the latest UFC on FOX 5 news.

    Jay Cee – The MMA Review

    FOLLOW us on TWITTER!!!