• UCMMA 29 Preview: Linton Vassell and Nick Chapman will battle for the Light-Heavyweight title

  • ucmma29 mainbanner 300x147 UCMMA 29 Preview: Linton Vassell and Nick Chapman will battle for the Light Heavyweight titleUCMMA 29 is just around the corner and even after being hit with injuries and alterations the card is stacked from top to bottom with exciting fights. The show will take place on Saturday Aug.18 at The Troxy in London, England.

    The event will feature a headline bout between current light-heavyweight champion Linton Vassell and challenger Nick Chapman. Two more titles will also be on the line as Ricky Jones and Michael Page battle for the welterweight UK1 title, and Giorgio Andrews squares off against Spencer Hewitt for the flyweight title.

    Linton Vassell is currently riding a four fight wining streak, most recently defeating Aurelijus Kerpe via first round submission at UCMMA 26 earlier this year. Prior to that he scored a first round TKO win over Zsolt Balla at UWC 17 last October, and a unanimous decision victory over Simon Carlsen at CWFC 41 in April 2011. Vassell has not lost since his matchup against Matti Makela at Superior Challenge 6, where he suffered a third round TKO.

    Nick Chapman last fought at UCMMA 24 last October, where he was defeated by Jimi Manuwa via first round TKO. Prior to that he scored a second round submission victory over David Zetolofsky at UCMMA 17 in December 2010, and another submission win over Andrius Juska at UCMMA 15 in September 2010. Defeating Linton would be a great way for Nick to bounce back from his loss against Jimi and pick up the title in the process.

    The three title fights and the rest of the card are sure to deliver, so get yourself down to the event and experience the action live – CLICK HERE FOR TICKET INFORMATION


    UCMMA 29 – Full Fight Card


    Light Heavyweight Title Fight:

    - Linton Vassell vs. Nick Chapman

    Flyweight Title Fight:

    - Giorgio Andrews vs. Spencer Hewitt

    Welterweight UK1 Title Fight:

    - Ricky Jones vs. Michael Page

    - Ben Callum vs. Tautvydas Lileikis
    - Max Nunes vs. Iain Martell
    - Steve Brazier vs. Jody Collins
    - Nathan Greyson vs. Paul Kingdon
    - Sam Gilbert vs. Carl Oriss
    - Andy Cona vs. Fadi Jameel
    - Sean Carter vs. Dom Clark
    - Ian Peters vs. Ben McGonigle

    Fight card is subject to change at anytime*

    Stay close to The MMA Review (themmareview.co.uk) for all the latest MMA news.

    Thanks guys,

    Jay Cee – The MMA Review

    Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Facebook!